Pretty puzzle piece picture


I like looking for creative, pretty, interesting, out-of-the-ordinary crafts to do 😀 Here’s one I recently did, and I thought I’d share. It’s a terrific way to turn that puzzle that’s missing a few pieces into a cute or beautiful piece of art!
image
Over the Christmas holidays, the daycare I work at was cleaning out its shelves and getting rid of stuff. The puzzle I made this from was missing a few pieces and so wasn’t useful for the kids. We were just going to throw the pieces into a bin to use on other crafts, but I thought of another use for it. 🙂

I found a section without holes to use as the main part of the picture, made that part and glued it onto a piece of cardboard for stability. I cut the bumpy edges off, but, depending on the look you want, you could leave them.
image
I thought about leaving it like that, putting on a ribbon hanger and calling it done, (and depending on your picture style, you could just put on a hanger and end here) but I kept thinking of more ways to fancy it up-it is princessy, after all! So I glued more decorative puzzle pieces around the outside edge of the picture. I glued them to the back so they’d peek out but not interfere with the main picture, but again, depending on what you want, you could stick this border on the front side. I used tacky glue for this part as it dries faster and you don’t have to hold each piece as long.
image
I used a mix of fancy and plainer pieces for the border.
image
And then, because glitter makes everything better 😉 I added a little bit just outside the picture.
image
Lastly, I wove a string of some gold beads around the outside puzzle pieces, using some superglue to secure it. That also became my hanger.

And that’s it! It took a while but I’m very happy with the finished product! 😀 There are many different ways to do this craft, and I’m looking forward to trying new styles and looks. 🙂

Leave a comment

Hope you were blessed by the site! Please leave a comment!

